Log in
  • Home
  • Pat Nowlin Memorial Scholarship

Pat Nowlin Memorial Scholarship

Pat Nowlin, founding member and the first State President of the New Mexico CowBelles 

The New Mexico CowBelles are proud to offer a scholarship to a deserving CowBelle or child of a CowBelle.

*The 2023 Entry Deadline is April 15, 2023* 

Clink the link below to download the rules and entry forms.

Pat Nowlin Scholarship Rules and Forms 

Pat Nowlin Memorial Scholarship Applications Sought by NM CowBelles

Each year the NM CowBelles accept scholarship applications to honor the memory of

Pat Nowlin who was instrumental in beginning the first CowBelle organization in Arizona

in 1947 followed by the New Mexico organization when she moved to the Cimarron area

in 1957. Nowlin served as our first NM CowBelle president and was later elected to the

position of national secretary / treasurer.

The NM CowBelles will again offer two $500 scholarships to be awarded to graduating

high school seniors and one additional $500 scholarship to be given to a college

upperclassman or adult returning to college to obtain their degree. Applicants must be

a paid member of the NM CowBelles, a junior age member or a child of a NM CowBelle

in order to apply. Scholarship applications must also include:

1) The NM CowBelle Local Verification Form signed by the local CowBelle

president and secretary who have chosen to sponsor the applicant.

2) Applicant’s photo.

3) High school transcript, home school record of courses, or an official

transcript of the college or trade school the applicant last attended.

Applications may be obtained from the scholarship chair, a NM CowBelle local, on the

NM CowBelle website at https://www.newmexicocowbelles.org/ or the NM CowBelle

FaceBook page at https://www.facebook.com/NewMexicoCowBelles.

The deadline to submit scholarship applications with all attachments is April 15,


Scholarship applications must be submitted to Shelly Hathorn, the NM CowBelle

Scholarship Chair, via mail at the address below or by email to: shporter@nmsu.edu.

Contact the chair at 575-447-7447 with questions regarding the scholarship applications

or to make a donation to the memorial scholarship fund.

Please note that scholarship applications and donation cards were updated

December 2021 and distributed to those present at the annual membership

meeting in Albuquerque. Updated forms and donor cards will be mailed to all

remaining local presidents and chairs.

Shelly Hathorn - NM CowBelle Scholarship Chair

112 Scottsdale Drive, Clovis, NM 88101


PRESIDENT - Jacinda Price - spriceandjprice@gmail.com

PRESIDENT ELECT - Vonda Frost - vondacfrost@gmail.com

VICE PRESIDENT - Michelle Greeman - mgreeman12@yahoo.com

TREASURER - Stephanie Avent - treasurer.nmcb@gmail.com

SECRETARY - Renee Nix - nixrenee@yahoo.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software